Copy & Paste and NSPanel style

How often do you use the NSPanel?

I have not used NSPanels, except for the NSOpenPanel and NSSavePanel, in my programs.

So, I didn’t remember a littler different behaviour of NSPanel.

Recently I found out that an NSPanel doesn’t accept keyboard shortcuts if its style is “Utility“.

When your NSPanel doesn’t allow you to copy and paste text for NSTextFields located on the NSPanel, try checking if “utility” style is on. If so, remove it to enable copy & paste.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by danb on May 1, 2009 at 7:29 PM

    where do you find that setting to change it?

    Reply

  2. Posted by danb on May 2, 2009 at 7:47 AM

    Thanks!

    I realized I was actually using an NSWindow… so I changed it to a Panel.. and unchecked utility.. same problem, no copy and paste. I’ll keep poking

    Reply

Leave a Reply

