GNAT vs. GNATS : Crazy open source names

I wanted to compile a GHDL for my PowerPC iMac G4 17″.
However, instead of compiling it for myself, I tried the MacPort to download prebuilt binaries for the necessary tools.
I knew that gnatmake is necessary. It seems to me that it is in GNAT project. So, I searched the MacPort. Oh.. there is the GNATS.
So, I downloaded it. But there was no gnatmake.

So, probably the gnats has something wrong, and decided to build for myself. Hmm.. I downloaded the GNAT. and it complains some conflicted declaration on wswap, and so on.
I didn’t want to waste my time, although I tried modifying troubled source codes at least. So, I searched where I can get the gnatmake from the MacPort.

Wow.. what I found out from searching is that GNAT is different from GNATS.

GNAT is a GNU bug tracking software, while the GNATS is the Ada compiler.

Wow…………………..
People should be careful about naming projects…

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by TC on July 20, 2011 at 4:30 PM

    I think you got it backwards…

    GNAT (Ada) – GNU Project – Free Software Foundation (FSF)
    GNU GNATS is a set of tools for tracking bugs…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

