Installation Build Products Location

Xcode and GCC provide a lot of build options. Although many of them are documented, it is pretty hard to figure out what they really mean. So, if you are just like me, you are end up with some other approach to achieve something.

For example, after your project is built, you want to put generated binary to a certain folder, like /Library/ApplicationSupports/Final Cut Pro Support/Plugins.

You can add “Copy” phase in your target setting to copy your binary to the destination folder. You can just manually copy those files or you can write a shell script to copy the files and have Xcode invoke the shell script file after building your binary.

While taking a look at ColumnViewSample codes, actually its ColumnPlugin sub project, I noticed that it uses another approach.

How to set where to copy a built binary, or where to install it

It is neat, isn’t it? I didn’t use this option. How stupid am I!!!!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Arifur Rahman on May 5, 2010 at 3:20 AM

    Hi,

    I have created a sample project using XCode. I have also set the target environment same as the above Deployment setting. When I build it shows successful. But no .dst file or nothing is created in the “Installation Build Products Location”.

    Mainly I need an executable file that I can launch to other Mac OS. Can you please help me by giving proper suggestions..

    Thanks
    Arif

    Reply

    • Posted by jongampark on May 5, 2010 at 7:26 AM

      Will you try with the sample code I mentioned in the post first?
      Without having your project file I can’t help you, because I don’t see whatever problem you have here.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

